---
title: "Deleting Files and Directories in SiteWorx"
source: "https://docs.nexcess.com/hosting/control-panel/interworx/siteworx/file-management/deleting-files-and-directories-in-siteworx/"
description: "In just a few clicks you can delete files and folders from your website."
vertical: "Hosting"
date: "2024-03-04"
last_modified: "2026-08-06"
---

# Deleting Files and Directories in SiteWorx

We’ve shown you how to [upload files and add files and folders](https://docs.nexcess.com/hosting/control-panel/interworx/siteworx/file-management/adding-files-and-folders-in-siteworx/) using the File Manager in SiteWorx, now let’s look at deleting them. In just a few clicks you can delete files and folders from your website.

| ### Warning: |
|---|
| Deleting files and folders will permanently delete them from the site. If you need a copy for later use, verify a backup before deleting any files or folders (see [Configuring Backups in Interworx Web Panel](https://docs.nexcess.com/hosting/control-panel/interworx/nodeworx/backup-and-restore/configuring-backups-in-interworx-web-panel/)). |

1. To delete a file, log into SiteWorx and go to the File Manager (if you need help logging into SiteWorx, see [Logging into Interworx Web Panel](https://docs.nexcess.com/hosting/control-panel/interworx/logging-into-interworx-web-panel/).
2. Click the **check box** next to the name of the file you want to delete. Then click the **Actions** drop-down menu.

![actions link highlighted](https://docs.nexcess.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/help.liquidweb.com_WRX3IF.png)

3. Choose **Delete** from the Actions options menu. Notice, you can also use this menu to download, copy, move, and rename files and complete other tasks.

![delete link highlighted](https://docs.nexcess.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/help.liquidweb.com_X7oCq2.png)

4. Confirm that you want to delete the file or files selected by clicking **Yes**.

![delete confirmation dialogue box](https://docs.nexcess.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/help.liquidweb.com_afxHKc.png)

The file is now deleted.

You can follow the same steps to delete a folder, remembering to check the box next to the folders name.
